What will it be?

Hello again,
I was reminded today of something the Lord spoke to me and I wanted to share it with you all.

Short story, but I was born in Tucson, Arizona. My parents had family there and in the middle of winter, early February 1986 to be exact, they heard a Mike Bickle tape (yes, tape). That tape so transformed them and they knew that Kansas City was the place the Lord had for them. So they packed up all their belongings and without even hesitating, they moved to Kansas City. My mom was also 9 months pregnant with Grace at the time. Crazy story.

We have been here ever since, under Mike Bickle’s leadership, 25 years to be exact.

One sunday morning at church, I was sitting listening to Mike preach. My heart was so stirred and I was thanking the Lord for my parents’ decision to move here. If they hadn’t left family, friends, church, a good life and job, and moved in the middle of winter, 9 months pregnant, I don’t know where I would be. In my life, that is the single most important decision my parents ever made.

Then I asked the question. What will it be for my kids? What is the one thing I will do that will mark and set my children up for their destiny in God?

And you know what? God answered me, right then and there. He spoke to my heart saying, “Your faithfulness and your steadiness in the mundane of doing IHOP will be the thing that marks their hearts.”

Clear as day. It really ministered to me because most of the work of an intercessory missionary is mundane and hard. It’s also joyous and beautiful, don’t get me wrong. But the number one thing I am tempted with being an intercessory missionary here at IHOPKC, is the dream of moving away and living in a beautiful city with gorgeous outdoor activities, etc. Still loving the Lord of course and doing the work of the kingdom, but just living somewhere else.

The Lord clearly spoke to me that day and told me that I am called to be faithful and steady, here at IHOP KC. My children will see me and Joel and they will know of the goodness of the Lord over their lives.

So I challenge you to ask that tonight. What will it be in your life that will mark your children for greatness in God? It’s a fun question to ask the Lord. Maybe He’ll speak to you tonight.

Blessings!!!!!
Anna Rose

4 comments
  1. Lauren said:

    Anna, this brings tears to my little eyes.. I love your heart and I love that the Lord would speak to you about how you are investing into your children’s heart in the simplicity of daily life. Love you!

  2. I love that, I feel the same question! I’m excited to pray about it and see what the Lord says, thnks Anna! 🙂

  3. This is absolutely beautiful Anna!!!!!
    This makes me so happy and blesses me a ton. 🙂
    SO glad that i’m not the only one that the Lord has spoken to about staying!

  4. caro said:

    I DONT HAVE AN IDEA
    What will it be in MY life that will mark my children for greatness in God?

    but is GOOD question, and that is related with all the things I have been thinking this days.. good 😀

Leave a Reply

