What’s for dinner?

Tonight, I threw a couple chickens in the oven for dinner. My kids, sadly, are entirely sick of roast chicken and veg. From being on the GAPS diet for 3 weeks, they had their fair share of chicken stock and vegetables cooked in chicken stock. They need a break. But alas, it was what I had and they had to eat it.

My method of cooking chicken is foolproof and super delicious. I thought I would share it.

I always throw two chickens in a roasting pan, usually weighing 3-5 lbs a piece. I throw some chopped up vegetables in the pan too. Celery, carrots, potatos, squash, onions, or anything else that sounds good. I love using fresh herbs but don’t always have those available. Today, though I did and I used fresh thyme, rosemary, and sage, along with salt and pepper which I generously spread over the chickens and veg.

Put half a stick of butter on top of each chicken and put in the oven at 250 degrees for 4-5 hours. It always takes my oven 4 hours to get fully cooked but I have a terrible fear of serving under cooked chicken. It is one of my biggest fears. So I always want to make sure my chicken is fully cooked. And cooking the chicken at 250 nearly guarantees that it won’t be overcooked even if you do go over time.

Many a time, I have been in a rush and cooked my chicken at 350 for a couple hours, and the meat is always tough. In this method, you will have juicy, succulent meat. I promise.

Add some cumin, paprika, garlic, onion powder, anything you find in your cupboard. Experiment with seasonings. But 250 for 4 hours is the way to go.

I almost forget to mention that halfway through cooking, I add another stick of butter to the pan and mix around all the veg and start basting the chicken for the remainder of the cooking time.

The great thing is that you have plenty of bones and chicken for stock and soup the next day!!!!

Cheers and happy eating!

p.s. On a side note, for lunch I tried some veggie burgers from Costco.

They were just okay. The only redeeming thing is that I ate them with Frank’s sauce, the most glorious condiment on earth.

I am still looking for the best veggie burger available in stores.

Please let me know if you have on you adore! Thanks!

3 comments
  1. I have great success browning the chicken at about 400 for 20 – 30 minutes and then turning the oven down to 300 for another hour and a half. The chicken skin is usually perfect this way and I have never had it dry or rubbery.

    • sorgefamily said:

      Good to know Shari! Ill try it 🙂

  2. Yummy. Thanks for the tip. I’ve been looking for the perfect chicken recipe without outstanding success. 250 at four hours is my next attempt! Do you usually eat the veggies too, or do you throw those in mostly for flavor? Do your kids eat veggies well? Mine don’t and it feels like a constant struggle.

Leave a Reply

