Chicken Noodle Soup

Mmmmmmmmmm, homey, delicious, warm, healthy, amazing chicken noodle soup.

Nothing is better than homemade chicken noodle soup. Here’s my recipe.

Take a large onion, and chop it. Add to a large pan with extra virgin olive oil and saute for a few minutes.

Chop of a bunch of carrots. I never count or measure the veg. I just do what seems right. If i have extra carrots than I chop them too.

Throw the carrots in the soup pot with the onions and just let it saute while you chop up some celery.

Throw the celery in the pot. Keep the soup pot on med heat and just saute the living daylights out of it.

Now I add my herbs. Rosemary, thyme, sage (I used fresh because I had it on hand, but I normally use dry ingredients at around 1 tsp. a piece), oregano, salt, and pepper.

Throw them in the pot and add your chicken stock. I use homemade from the chickens that I roast once a week. But you can use store bought or homemade. Add a good amount. Again, I never measure. I just know what looks right. Definitely cover the vegetables by a couple inches.

Bring the stock to a boil and throw in the egg noodles. Let them cook in the soup, and then add some chopped up chicken.

I usually roast two chickens a week. We eat one for dinner then I pick the chicken off the other and save it in a ziploc bag for either soup or a casserole during the week.

Taste and season with more salt and pepper if needed.
There you have it!

Enjoy and make it on a cold day or when someone is sick and needs to get better fast!!!! There’s healing in this soup.

p.s. Thought you would enjoy a view from where I cook. I have such a wonderful view of all my friends on my refrigerator. While I chop, cut, and cook, I pray for all my friends and their families. Want me to think and pray for you? Send me a photo of your family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

