Chicken Tortilla Soup

I am a sucker for tortilla soup. It is my absolute favorite!!!!!

So today I thought I would give you my recipe and pass on the love to your family.

Here are the ingredients
– half red onion, chopped
– bunch of cilantro
– 2 chicken breast or precooked chicken either rotisserie or TJ’s grilled chicken (I used a rotisserie chicken and only used the white meat)
– 1 avocado
– 2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese
– 2 cans rotel
– 4 TBSP tomato paste
– 60 or so ounces chicken broth
– cumin, chili powder, and garlic powder
– sour cream, optional
– your favorite brand of tortilla chips

Let’s get started.
Put your soup pot over the stove on med heat.
Add some extra virgin olive oil, about 3 TBSP.
Add 1/2 red onion, chopped and let it saute for a minute
Add 1 tsp each of cumin, chili powder, and garlic powder (use less chili powder if you want it mild, my recipe has a little zip to it)
Add half the bunch of cilantro, chopped
Add the two cans of rotel tomatoes
Add your precooked chicken, shredded
Add 4 TBSP of tomato paste

The smell in your kitchen will be divine at this point.

Add the chicken stock and bring to a low boil.
Turn off the heat and start preparing your add ins. 🙂

Grate some sharp cheddar cheese, about 2 cups worth.
Chop up some more cilantro
Slice and chop the avocado.

Ladle the soup in the bowl, add avocado, a dollop of sour cream (if you choose), sprinkling of cheddar cheese, and some cilantro on top.
YUMMY!!!!!
I crunch up my chips and put them in the soup while I eat. It’s just the best soup on earth!
I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Cheers!!!!

2 comments
  1. Lindsay Wenth said:

    Ahhh!!! My heart just smiled!! Mwahh!!

  2. Debi B said:

    I read your blog, but I don’t really comment, but I had to tell you that I was so excited to read this post. I love chicken tortilla soup; however, most of them have a creamy sauce, which I don’t like. We have a nearby Mexican restaurant who serves a tortilla soup with broth and I love it!!! So, when I saw this post and read through the recipe I got so excited because it sounded so much like the restaurant soup! And, I was really excited when I realized I had all the ingredients in my pantry!! So I whipped it up last night……definitely a new favorite!!!!!!!!!! YAY!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!!

Leave a Reply

